Skip to content

What I Tried to Say at Today’s GA – #occupyphilly

October 11, 2011

this guy was pretty passionate about school funding, I support his lawsuit against the governor. I shot some video of him, here: http://www.youtube.com/12gaugeangel#p/u/0/qH_CuCOYir4

I had no intention of speaking when I arrived.  I was helping with broadcasting the meeting, that was my purpose there.  Yesterday, someone said that I should speak.  I happened to have some of the same thoughts as this other young man did.  I wrestled with the idea.  That was part of the reason I was up so late and why I slept so restlessly.  Anyway, I started writing down my thoughts last night, and thinking about how I would present my thoughts.  Although, I wasn’t sure if I should do it or not… I wanted to be prepared just in case.  Glad I did.

Between then and now a lot happened.  There was the Atlanta and Boston live feeds.  The huge amount of tweeting and info relaying on http://www.occupyphilly.org chat.  My regular life fit was squeezed into my time as well, however with less regularity than usual.  I’m sure many of you understand what I mean by this.  I was shaken by the news when I woke up (read earlier posts) and didn’t remember to bring the notebook I was scribbling in when I left my house.  Again, by 9am my focus was shifted.

The general assembly was kicking off.  Technical issues were worked out.  We were rolling.  Good feeling.

I was kind of lingering by the tech tent and looking on.  This is where speakers were waiting to go up, and I was asked repeatedly if I was waiting to speak.  “No, but thank you”.  I said that several times.  The other speakers were passionate and basically just all around amazing, but I heard some things that were directly connected to the subjects I felt we needed to discuss and no one was talking about.  The same things I was scribbling in my notebook.

It popped into my head that maybe I should carry on with speaking.  I looked out into the crowd and caught eyes with someone I had never met. Unexpected. Just as I was thinking, “should i do it?” – She nodded at me twice.  Total coincidence I’m sure, but it was all I needed. That happened in a split second. Within another 60 seconds I had typed out what is below into my ipad.  Within the second minute I was being handed the mic and was stepping on stage.  The abrupt turn of events put me in a mode where I didn’t have time to be nervous.  Here is what I tried to say, not sure exactly what I said now, but this should give you an idea.

What I said at the 10/11 GA occupyphilly

I didn't stick exactly to this... I was in the moment. My point, however, remained the same.

A great experience over all.  Glad I could share it with you all.  If anyone knows of a video of me speaking, please send it to me.  It’s probably worth a giggle.

Anywho… I had to get back to the office so I can continue to keep all plates spinning.  So I got my stuff together and boogied on out.

– Twelve

2 Comments
  1. TheDude626 permalink

    Good Stuff!!

Leave a Reply

